Home » Uncategorized » 27 October 1875

27 October 1875

Lady Ezra 1My dear friend,

Something very sweet and tender happened this morning and I would like to share it with you. I know you will appreciate it!

We have a small Tea Room here in Finchingfield, and it is my custom to frequent it whenever possible. The proprietress is a lovely woman who opened it up some years ago after her husband passed away. Adelaide’s Tea Room is a delightful place for ladies to meet, which is pleasant as most places are not suitable for us. I stopped in at Adelaide’s this morning for a cup of tea after my other errands. I was served a pot of steaming tea along with some delicious shortbread. It was the perfect refreshment after a busy morning.

In my bag, I have a small booklet which contains the Psalms as well as some other verses of Scripture. I pulled it out and began reading. It is most helpful to have this with me, as my Bible is large and not easy to carry with me. As I was perusing the Scriptures, another lady with whom I had not made an acquaintance came up to me and asked if she might talk with me for a moment. I said yes and suggested she have a seat. She said she noticed me reading and surmised I might be reading the Word of the Lord. I confirmed I was and she said that she too kept a small booklet like I had for similar reasons and suspected that she and I were kindred spirits. What a delightful and serendipitous meeting!

Her name is Mrs. Martin Kingston (Helene). She and Mr. Kingston live in Thaxted, which is only a few miles from Finchingfield. Apparently, they have relations here in Finchingfield and come to town regularly. Mr. Kingston was doing some business in town while we spoke. She is quite a delightful woman; as happy and charming a woman as I have ever met. She told me that she and her husband have been married for several years, but are without children. She said they were deeply grieved initially when they realized a family was not to be part of their lives, and they sought God in prayer for several months about it. Then one day, she was walking along and a passage from the Gospel according to John came to her thoughts. It was so strong, so forceful she told me it took the breath out of her: “Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him. I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work. As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” She said she immediately realized that the Lord did not look unfavorably towards her or her husband. In fact, He looked upon them with great favor, because He wants to do His works in them, and throughout their lives. Their lack of children was not a reason to grieve, but rather to rejoice, because the Lord has and will do magnificent things in them.

She said ever since that day, they have never looked back, never asked “why” again, never felt jealousy like they used to. Occasionally, there is a bit of hurt, but she told me it does not break her heart as it once did. In addition, she and Mr. Kingston have been approached by a Mission Society and are considering going to India to serve the Lord there. The Society approached them a few months ago, and they are discussing this with their kin, praying about it and so forth. Already, funds have been set aside for them, although they have yet to ask anyone to support them.

Oh, what a lovely morning this has been! I asked Mrs. Kingston if we might remain in contact, and we agreed. Such a wondrous beginning to a friendship ought to be continued; don’t you agree?

Your loving,

Lady Ezra

2 thoughts on “27 October 1875

Leave a comment